Brought to you by the Columbus Bar Association through its division, Columbus Bar Services
Karen Poling

Karen Poling

Affordable, compassionate, courteous service focused on family law issues, including divorce, custody, and support, and on employment law issues.
Karen Poling Law, LLC
(1-5 Attorneys)

Employment and Labor Relations
Family Law and Divorce

5354 Cemetery Road
Hilliard, OH 43026

25 years



Why did you become an attorney?

I became an attorney because of the diversity in practice areas and the opportunity to help individual clients solve their problems.

What experiences (work and personal) help you to be a better attorney?

I worked for a commercial mortgage banking firm in Washington D.C. after obtaining my degree from Georgetown University; this background help me understand the financial components of the law, from how to calculate damages in employment matters to separating assets in a divorce. My experience as a mother enables me to understand the problems parents face when they sever their relationships or in drafting parenting plans.

What made you choose your primary specialty focus of law?

I like the very human components of domestic and employment law. Whether at home or in their office, people develop very strong attachments and have similar reactions when either is threatened. I provide honest, straightforward advice to help clients move through the process.

What makes your law firm unique?

I make every attempt to return phone calls with 24 hours so that my client is provided the support necessary to navigate a very difficult period in their lives.

Describe your ideal client.

I appreciate honest clients who are open with me regarding all aspects of their case and work with me to obtain the best possible result.

Describe your personal interest and hobbies.

Being the mother of two small children, my family is my primary hobby. I also enjoy camping, hiking, and golf in those rare moments of free time.

Describe your charitable activities.

I regularly donate funds or materials to the Kidney Foundation, American veterans, and Volunteers of America.

Employment and Labor Relations
  • Discrimination
  • Employment Agreements
  • other employment issues
  • Wrongful Termination
Family Law and Divorce
  • Custody
  • Divorce
  • Domestic Partnerships and GLBT rights
  • Family Mediation
  • Name changes
  • Paternity
  • Power of Attorney
  • Prenuptial/Postnuptial
  • Restraining Orders
  • Spousal Support
  • Stepparent Adoption
  • Support

The Ohio State University College of Law
Juris Doctor (JD), 1998

Bar Association Membership

Ohio State Bar Association
Columbus Bar Association


In 1991, I graduated from Georgetown University with a B.S.B.A. in Finance and International Management; I graduated from Ohio State University College of Law in 1998.

Court Admissions

All State of Ohio Courts
U.S. District Court for Southern District of Ohio
U.S. District Court for Northern District of Ohio

Board/Committee Membership

Franklin Inn of Court
National Association of Women Business Owners
Women Lawyers of Franklin County

Continuing Education

My continuing education requirements are all current.

Bar Admission Date


Supreme Court Number


Licensed In

Ohio (1998), #0069417

Significant Cases

Waddell v. Roxanne Laboratories, Inc. (May 6, 2004), Franklin App. No. 03AP-558 (unreported) (wrongful termination based on race discrimination); Wolfe v. Wolfe, a domestic case involving significant child support issues; Sterud v. Orange Township, et al. (wrongful termination).

Summary of Firm

Affordable, compassionate, courteous service focused on family law issues, including divorce, custody, and support, and on employment law issues.

Summary of Previous Employment

I served as staff attorney for Judge Thomas O'Grady of the Court of Appeals for the Second District before entering into private practice in employment and family law.

Free Initial Consultation?

I discuss a potential client's matter over the phone to determine whether I can help them prior to scheduling an appointment.

Fees by Hourly Rate

$275 per hour for domestic and $300 per hour for employment. I accept all major credit cards.


Back To Search Results